Pride And Prejudice – Done!


Such a satisfying feeling!

I finished Pride And Prejudice last night, hurrah! I must admit, I didn’t enjoy it very much. I can’t quite articulate why, but I just found myself thinking “UGH, how self-involved and pretentious!”. I didn’t sympathise with any of the characters, or even find their stories particularly interesting. Maybe I’m just a philistine, but I was glad to finish it so I can move on to another book on the list! I think I’ll go for Captain Corelli’s Mandolin as mum picked up a copy for the mighty sum of £1 last week, and I am intrigued. If you’ve read Pride And Prejudice, leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of it – I am interested to see other people’s opinions on it!

I hope the weather is better wherever you are – I had to go on an epic journey to get margarine earlier and ended up soaked through because it was raining so hard!

x

5 responses to “Pride And Prejudice – Done!”

  1. Celeste says :

    Hi, I meant to leave a comment when you first posted this list but I’m terrible at commenting.
    I really like Pride & Predudice, I like most of Austen’s books and I’ve read them umpteen times. I studied Sense & Sensibility at A-Level and though I enjoyed the story, I hated all the discussion about it because at the end of the day Austen wasn’t trying to write a high flying novel. If she’d been writing today she’d be on a par with Freya North or Helen Fielding. She wrote novels about the type of people she knew, or saw, with a bit of romance thrown in. Once I’d got my head around that I started loving them.

    I tend to read them when I want something I don’t have to think about, but not a trashy.

    I’m obviously not your average person (the wall of books in my living room, never mind the other shelves in the house prove that) I’ve ready 49, and there’s a few on the shelves waiting to be read.

  2. Helen says :

    Ohhh no don’t read captain corelli! Well, maybe you’ll enjoy it more but it has been tarnished for me by having to study it for A Levels haha. I haven’t read Pride & Prejudice, but I finished Northanger Abbey the other week. I thought it was just like chick lit set in the 1800s. A bit trashy and cheesy.

  3. +marzipan+ says :

    Yay!

  4. Diana Mican says :

    Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite books now, but I wasn’t able to finish it the first time I tried reading it. It was only years later after seeing the BBC’s adaptation (and loving it) that I came back to the book to give it another try. Now I’m working my way through the rest of her novels.

    Since then, I sometimes will watch an (acclaimed) adaptation of a classic first. If I like it, I know that the book will likely be much, much better. It helps me get through the older English style and into the heart of the story.

  5. Lucy says :

    I’m not sure how many times I’ve read Pride and Prejudice now, probably every time they rerun it on the tv tbh. It always seems to remind me that I haven’t read it in a while! It’s just pure escapism.

Leave a Reply

