I can’t believe I haven’t posted about this yet…

I FINISHED MOBY DICK!

It only took me 6 months, but I finally finished Moby Dick, a couple of weeks ago. I feel like a philistine for saying it, but it was such. a. slog. I am so glad to have finished it, I didn’t enjoy it at all :/ I think it’s the sort of thing that you either love or hate. My next read was far more enjoyable.


The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

I was a bit daunted by this book – a book about the murder of a teenage girl didn’t seem like pleasant bedtime reading. However, it really was a good read – I finished it in less than a week, which is always a good indication. This definitely gets the thumbs up from me.

Being spurred on by following a very dry book with such an enjoyable one encouraged me to plough on through the list, and my latest read could go either way…


Emma by Jane Austen

I must say, I’m not a fan of Jane Austen and that style of writing – Pride And Prejudice took some willpower to read, so I’m not expecting to love (or, to be honest, like) Emma, but I shall read it regardless.

I get the impression some people think I’m a bit bonkers for reading books that I’m not enjoying, simply to cross them off a list. But it’s as much a test of my perseverance and patience, as well as my stubbornness – I refuse to leave a book on the list unfinished, as I’ve set myself the challenge of reading every single book on the list, cover to cover (with the exception, maybe, of the Bible…) and I shall do it, come Hell or high water!

Apart from reading, I’ve just spent my days pottering about, doing a bit of gardening, seeing Lady Gaga in London (OMG she was amazing <3), and moving out of my flat in London (and avoiding sorting out the subsequent mess – gulp). What have you been up to?

x

One response to “I can’t believe I haven’t posted about this yet…”

  1. +marzipan+ says :

    Well done you for sticking with it!!!!!!
    Will I ever get through Pride & Prejudice???

    (why are you reading this when you have your room to do??) x

Leave a Reply

