Edinburgh

I’ve been saying for months that I wanted to go for a weekend break somewhere, but as anyone who knows me knows, I can be hideously indecisive, so rarely actually do anything. But last week, I was whisked off for a surprise break to Edinburgh, as my boyfriend and I celebrated our 21st birthdays, and I thought I’d share some of the places we visited 🙂

Firstly, we stayed at The Glasshouse – a gorgeous little boutique hotel just off the East End of the Royal Mile. Everything from the room to the staff was exceptional, and I was a bit gutted to leave to be honest!

We even had a patio on the roof, which got a lot of use as the weather was beautiful.


The view of Calton Hill was fantastic

We visited a couple of restaurants while we were there – first was The Magnum (can’t seem to find a website for them) which was delicious; I can highly recommend the cullen skink and vegetarian haggis (I couldn’t go to Scotland without giving those a try!). We also went to Black Bo’s, a dedicated vegetarian/vegan restaurant; I particularly liked it there because I was stuck for choice – it’s so nice to have so many things to choose from that all sound yummy. Also on a food-related note, we had some Cuckoo Bakery cupcakes…


… That were VERY nommy

We also felt compelled to do the touristy stuff – we walked the Royal Mile from the Parliament to the Castle, coming across St Giles Cathedral in the process; it was beautiful, and I would have really liked to have taken some photos, but apparently it was prohibited unless one bought a photography pass… Is that particularly common practice? I don’t think I’ve ever come across a place that charges people to take photos… 😦

I was really struck by how pretty Edinburgh was – every corner we turned, there was a little cobbled street of old buildings, or a big old hill (I’m a weakling southerner, hills defeat me), and I really liked that. And it certainly helped that the weather was beautiful the whole time we were there. I didn’t know they had sunshine in Scotland…

x

Tags:

One response to “Edinburgh”

  1. +marzipan+ says :

    Sounds like you had a really lovely time ♥

Leave a Reply

