Christmas knits

After the RESOUNDING success of the football scarf I knitted last autumn, the recipient promptly declared that it was the best thing since sliced bread, and that he simply HAD to have another one, in his team’s away colours. Of course.


Cascade 220 on 4.5mm circular needles in stocking stitch

But that wasn’t the whole story. Oh no.

The thing is, this was a Christmas gift. And I messed up.

I started it in early December, feeling very organised (seriously), and I knitted about three quarters of it, before I realised I had knitted the stripes too long and wouldn’t have enough yarn to complete the stripe pattern. So came December 23rd, when I ripped the whole thing out and started again. And then followed 35640 stitches in 49 hours.* But damn it, it was ready for Christmas morning and that’s what mattered. Never mind the fact my hands were misshapen claws and everything looked green by the time I finished, it was met with rapturous delight and both scarves have been in heavy rotation ever since.

Another Christmas knit was a scarf for my nephew – much less hassle!


Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky on 6mm needles in Brioche Stitch

I knit the majority of this on a return Eurostar journey to Brussels – it was so nice to knit. Whilst the football scarf wasn’t a difficult pattern, I certainly made it complicated for myself, so this Brioche pattern (on a rather smaller scale!) was a breeze. Credit goes to the wonderfully clear directions at The Purl Bee. I’m not even sure if my nephew is quite down with wearing scarves, but I don’t even mind because it was a pleasure to knit and what’s more, I used up yarn that has honestly been in my stash for at least the last 7 years…!

* I’m not even kidding, I actually worked it out…

x

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

