August Scarves

Well life’s gone and done that thing again where it all goes a bit tits up. My response to this has been to knit. A lot.

My favourite online yarn shop shut down recently (just to clarify, this isn’t what’s gone tits up, but life sure does like to pile it on, right?) and so they had a big clearance sale. And I can’t resist a good yarn bargain.

yarn
I realised when it arrived that there was 4.4 kilometres of yarn here O_O

The Cascade 220 was always destined to become winter mittens and hats, but the Malabrigo and Manos del Uruguay at the back were more of a chance; I didn’t really have a plan for these, other than “really effing lovely stuff”.

The lovely violet Malabrigo has become 95% of an Ishbel – I say 95% because I started it in June, knit my fingers off, and then floundered at the very last repeat. Naughty Smurf.

The Manos lace has become summer scarves. Yeah.

Now I know the idea of wearing a scarf in August probably sounds ridiculous, but I’m British, and sry2say, August does not preclude the need for knitwear. A case in point:

British Summer. Not even kidding.

This picture was taken on the FOURTEENTH OF AUGUST. A good 2-3 inches of hail fell (or rather threw itself violently out of the sky) in about half an hour, the fog afterwards was ridiculous and I could see my breath in the air. It was DEFINITELY the wrong day to sit outside for lunch.

Bias-knit scarf
Bias-knit scarf
Bias-knit scarf

I absolutely love the concept of Manos del Uruguay yarns; they are kettle-dyed by craftswomen in rural areas of Uruguay, working as part of cooperatives to provide economic, social and cultural opportunities for themselves and others. Plus, Manos is certified by the World Fair Trade Organisation, and that can only ever be a good thing. And I haven’t even mentioned that the lace yarn is baby alpaca, silk AND cashmere, and is ergo amazing.

I thought I’d let the yarn speak for itself and stick to a simple pattern, and so I had my first go at knitting on the bias. I think it really shows off the natural colour variations, what do you think?

You can find these scarves, plus more to follow shortly, in my Etsy shop

x

 

Leave a Reply

